Skip to main content
Snowglobe (The Snowglobe Duology #1)

Snowglobe (The Snowglobe Duology #1)

Current price: $20.99
Publication Date: February 27th, 2024
Publisher:
Delacorte Press
ISBN:
9780593484975
Pages:
384
The Stacks Bookstore
1 on hand, as of Apr 15 3:11am
(YOUNG ADULT FICTION)
On Our Shelves Now

An absolute knockout! Set in a post-ecological apocalypse Earth, this intense, fascinating dystopian book belongs on your shelf next to The Hunger Games. I hope Soyoung Park’s got more coming, because I’m ready for the next one.

Vaughn Lachenauer, Main Point Books, Wayne, PA
March/April 2024 Kids' Indie Next List

Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The gorgeous first edition hardcover of Snowglobe will feature two covers in one (a beautifully illustrated hardcover underneath the stunning jacket) and foil-stamped interior papers at the beginning and end of the book!

In a world of constant winter, only the citizens of the climate-controlled city of Snowglobe can escape the bitter cold—but this perfect society is hiding dark and dangerous secrets within its frozen heart. A groundbreaking Korean novel translated into English for the first time!

The Hunger Games meets Squid Game in Soyoung Park's dystopian thriller Snowglobe” –Entertainment Weekly

Enclosed under a vast dome, Snowglobe is the last place on Earth that’s warm. Outside Snowglobe is a frozen wasteland, and every day, citizens face the icy world to get to their jobs at the power plant, where they produce the energy Snowglobe needs. Their only solace comes in the form of twenty-four-hour television programming streamed directly from the domed city.

The residents of Snowglobe have everything: fame, fortune, and above all, safety from the desolation outside their walls. In exchange, their lives are broadcast to the less fortunate outside, who watch eagerly, hoping for the chance to one day become actors themselves.

Chobahm lives for the time she spends watching the shows produced inside Snowglobe. Her favorite? Goh Around, starring Goh Haeri, Snowglobe’s biggest star—and, it turns out, the key to getting Chobahm her dream life.

Because Haeri is dead, and Chobahm has been chosen to take her place. Only, life inside Snowglobe is nothing like what you see on television. Reality is a lie, and truth seems to be forever out of reach.

Translated for the first time into English from the original Korean, Snowglobe is a groundbreaking exploration of personal identity, and the future of the world as we know it. It is the winner of the Changbi X Kakaopage Young Adult Novel Award.

About the Author

Soyoung Park majored in communication and media at university. She is a winner of the Original Story Award and the Changbi X Kakaopage Young Adult Novel Award. She is the author of the Snowglobe duology.

Joungmin Lee Comfort is a Korean- English translator. Her translations have appeared in Clarkesworld Magazine and Best of World SF. Her recent co-translation of Kim Bo-young’s On the Origin of Species and Other Stories was longlisted for the National Book Award for translated literature.

Praise for Snowglobe (The Snowglobe Duology #1)

“A thrillingly and ingeniously conceived allegory about where we are, and where we’re headed.” —David Yoon, New York Times bestselling author of Frankly in Love

The Hunger Games meets Squid Game in Soyoung Park's dystopian thriller Snowglobe” – Entertainment Weekly

"Utterly unputdownable, Snowglobe is an out-of-this-world dystopian thrill ride. Soyoung Park has created an addictive, twisty tale perfect for fans looking for the next Squid Game or Parasite.”—Amélie Wen Zhao, New York Times bestselling author of Song of Silver, Flame Like Night

“This book completely consumed me! WHAT A RIDE! Snowglobe is an immersive and utterly addictive dark dystopian thriller that takes the reader deep into introspection about what you’d be willing to do, and who you’d be willing to become, to get what you want. With the eerie, desperate, and exhilarating vibes of Snowpiercer and The Hunger Games, it’s one of the BEST young adult sci-fi books out there, full stop.” —Susan Lee, author of Seoulmates

★ "Transporting and unputdownable; an appealing combination of deep and page-turning." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This fast-paced examination of reality television and surveillance....boasts a cast of resourceful and morally gray teens and teems with anticipatory tension reminiscent of The Hunger Games." —Publishers Weekly

"This debut, a dystopian thriller with a reality-TV twist, is perfect for fans of Squid Game or Snowpiercer." —Booklist

"This biting and thought-provoking YA dystopian tale examines the contemporary obsession with fame and luxury." —Shelf Awareness

"Readers will appreciate the rich Korean culture that permeates every part of the book and the well-done character development." —School Library Journal